6 July 2021 12:30

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2021 SA RAD Awards

RAD Australia’s longest-running awards day (49 years this year) went ahead on Sunday 4 July in South Australia, despite fears earlier in the week that the state would be thrust into lockdown like many other States and Territories around the country. Thankfully the event was able to proceed with special guest adjudicator David McAllister AC (the Academy’s Vice President and former Artistic Director of The Australian Ballet) there to select the winners.

Sincere thanks to our 2021 Student Activities programme Sponsors and event sponsors who helped the event acknowledge the 128 students who participated.

There were three new awards added this year. The Centenary Medal which has been introduced in 2021 to commemorate the RAD’s 100th anniversary globally, recognises the candidates who have demonstrated exceptional artistry and performance. One Medal was awarded for a Junior student and the second for a Senior student.  Also new this year was the Joyce Clothier OAM Scholarship to Dance Fest 22, the Academy’s annual summer workshop. This scholarship was introduced in 2021 in recognition of long-standing RAD Registered Teacher and Life Member Joyce Clothier OAM whose commitment to philanthropy and the support of opportunities for Regionally based students has been a significant contribution to the Academy for many years. Unfortunately, Joyce Clothier passed away in May of this year and the Academy created this scholarship to continue her legacy through the awards programme.

We are pleased to announce the winners were:-

Badenoch Iversen Award for Grades 2 & 3
Winner: Trinity-Star Roach from GWB Studios
Runner Up: Jasmine Lewis from GWB Studios

Gwen Mackey Award for Grades 4 & 5
Winner: Jannet Liu from Carisma Dance and Fitness
Runner Up: Mia Griffiths from Terry Simpson Studios

Jacqueline Tucker Award for Grades 6, 7 & 8
Winner: Georgina Karytinos from GWB Studios
Runner Up: Thomas Hobbs from Vivienne Winter School of Ballet

Sheila Laing Training Enhancement Award
Winner: Georgina Karytinos from GWB Studios

Joyce Clothier OAM Scholarship
Winner: Charlie Carr from Terry Simpson Studios

Floyd & B’Nay for Intermediate Foundation
Winner: Alannah Hefford from Turning Point Studios
Runner Up: Nadia Miklavcic from Turning Point Studios

Sir Robert Helpmann Award for Intermediate and Advanced Foundation
Winner: Natalie Vu from Turning Point Studios
Runner Up: Patric Annetta from Terry Simpson Studios

Kathleen Short Award for Advanced 1, 2, and Solo Seal
Winner: Jenny Arens from Terry Simpson Studios
Runner Up: Charlie Kither from Terry Simpson Studios

Eileen Hogarth Award
Winner: Masato Rafinian from Turning Point Studios

Lorraine Irving Scholarship
Winner: Leila Morales from GWB Studios

Centenary Medal 
Junior Winner:  Trinity-Star Roach from GWB Studios
Senior Winner: Tessa Gratton from Terry Simpson Studios

Congratulations to all who took part.


With special thanks to our Centenary Medal Sponsor


With thanks also to our 2021 Student Activities Programme Sponsors

Silver Sponsors
Bronze Sponsor
Event Sponsors