23 August 2019 03:30

The standard at this year’s RAD Awards in South Australia was particularly high and guest Adjudicator Justine Miles, a teacher at The Australian Ballet School had a tough time deciding who should take home the coveted 8 awards and 3 scholarships. Justine said:

“..it was lovely to see such wonderful dancers showing much promise and potential. Such a great opportunity for the dancers to be onstage and show everyone their passion and talent.”

The awards were also viewed for the first time by new RAD Australia National Director Rebecca Taylor who thoroughly enjoyed the experienced.

Graded Awards Winners


“This was my first RAD Awards day since becoming National Director and it was a pleasure to see our students apply their learning to a performance setting. For students to be able to share our syllabus with parents, family and friends, at the same time as striving to achieve recognition amongst their peers, is a very rewarding and enriching experience for everyone. I commend all the students on the hard work and preparation they had clearly put in. I’d also like to thank the students’ teachers for working with the students to give them this wonderful opportunity. Congratulations to our 2019 winners.”

Rebecca Taylor National Director RAD Australia




Congratulations to all those students who took part in the day and prepared so diligently to impress. A warm thank you to all our generous sponsors including Harlequin Floors our principal sponsor, new to the event this year. And thank you too to our dedicated team of staff and volunteers who worked so hard to make the day a success including RAD pianist Grant Kennedy and Examiner and Registered Teacher Helen Cooper who took the students through classwork. The efforts of the South Australia Regional Advisory Panel including panel Chair Lia Cocks and member/awards compere Kim Mead were very much appreciated also.

The winners were….

2019 SA RAD Awards Winners

Award Student Trained by
Badenoch Iversen Award for Grades 2-3 Winner Mya Church Carissa Neate-Lammers
Runner Up Erin Gray Larissa Simpson
Gwen Mackey Award for Grades 4-5 Winner Charlie Carr Terry Simpson
Runner Up Leila Morales Michelle Hofmann
Jacqueline Tucker Award for Grades 6,7 & 8 Winner Leila Revell Natanya Andonas
Runner Up Jessica Yates Natanya Andonas
Sheila Laing Training Enhancement Award Winner Thomas Hobbs Larissa Simpson
Boys DANCE 20 Junior Scholarship Winner Gabriel Lowe Carissa Neate-Lammers
Floyd & B'Nay Award for Intermediate Foundation Winner Jade Porter Terry Simpson
Runner Up Patric Annetta Terry Simpson
Sir Robert Helpmann Award for Intermediate and Advanced Foundation Winner Gabriel Lowe Carissa Neate-Lammers
Runner Up Shania Chan Michelle Hofmann
Kathleen Short Memorial Cup for Advanced 1, 2 and Solo Seal Winner Claire McCormack Terry Simpson
Runner Up Alissa Pukkinen Natanya Andonas
Eileen Hogarth Award Winner Claire McCormack Terry Simpson
Lorraine Irving Scholarship for DANCE 20 Winner Leila Revell Natanya Andonas
Boys DANCE 20 Senior Scholarship Winner Reiley Kohler Natanya Andonas
With thanks to our generous sponsors