6 May 2024 15:11

Royal Academy of Dance Australia Announces the Finalists for the Australian Advanced 1 Bursary Semi-Finals

06/05/2024: RAD Australia is delighted to announce the finalists from three of our six state semi-finals of the esteemed Australian Advanced 1 Bursary for 2024, representing New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, and Victoria.

All entrants demonstrated outstanding talent, commitment, and enthusiasm, with one finalists from each state selected to progress to the finals of one of our flagship national events.

After a hiatus, the Bursary has made a successful return to live semi-finals across the nation for the first time since 2019. In New South Wales, the semi-final class was conducted by Mitchell Rayner, with the musical accompaniment of pianist Grant Kennedy. Charlie Carberry of Dance North Academy emerged as the finalist, selected by adjudicator Jill Ogai.

From the Australian Capital Territory, Charlotte Seymour of the Kim Harvey School of Dance secured her finalist position. Meanwhile, in Victoria, the class led by RAD Examiner Susan Sargison and accompanied by Yvonne Carr, saw Darcy Donoghue from the Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School (VCASS) impress adjudicator Lisa Pavane, who selected him as the state finalist.

Lia Cox, Head of Department – Examinations and Regions, expressed her congratulations:

“Well done to the Bursary finalists from NSW, ACT, and VIC—your dedication, hard work, and pursuit of excellence have rightfully brought you to this moment! Best of luck for the finals on Sunday, May 26. We eagerly await the upcoming semi-finals for SA, WA, and QLD this weekend!”

The Royal Academy of Dance extends its sincere congratulations to all participants of the semi-finals. The perseverance shown by these young dancers, along with the steadfast support from their teachers and families, plays a crucial role in their ongoing success.

We are also thankful to Bloch Australia for their exclusive sponsorship of the Australian Advanced 1 Bursary. Their dedication to nurturing the arts and young talent is greatly valued.

Looking forward to this weekend, we are excited for the upcoming semi-finals in Queensland, South Australia, and Western Australia.

14/05/2024: We are thrilled to reveal the finalists from the remaining three state semi-finals of the prestigious Australian Advanced 1 Bursary for 2024. This announcement completes the lineup of finalists who will vie for top honours in one of RAD Australia’s flagship ballet events.

This year's semi-finals showcased exceptional talent across the country, with 34 dancers competing from across Australia. Each finalist demonstrated not only technical prowess but also a deep artistic sensibility that has distinguished them as among the best in their states. 

From South Australia, adjudicated by Edward Stratton-Smith, Emmy Denys of Turning Point Dance has been chosen as the state finalist from a class taught by Chylie Cooper.  

In Western Australia, Jaime Osborne of John Curtin College of the Arts has been selected at the state finalist. The WA semi-final was overseen by adjudicator Claire Voss with class taken by Melissa McCabe. 

Queensland’s semi-final spotlight shone on Tahlia Szumowski from Promenade Dance Studio, who impressed adjudicator Paul Boyd in a class taken by Nicole Galea. 

Lia Cox, Head of Department – Examinations and Regions, who will be present at the finals in Sydney, extended her congratulations to the remaining finalists:

After another successful weekend of Bursary semi-finals, congratulations to the finalists representing SA, WA and QLD! I look forward to seeing all these talented students on Sunday May 26 at Sydney Head Quarters!” 

RAD Australia once again extends heartfelt congratulations to all students and their dedicated teachers and supporters. The determination and hard work required to reach this level of competition cannot be overstated, and all involved should be immensely proud of their achievements. 

The finals will take place at the RAD headquarters in Sydney on Sunday, May 26. Tickets are available for purchase here

State Finalists for the 2024 Australian Advanced 1 Bursary:

State Name School Trained By
NSW Charlie Carberry Dance North Academy Adam Blanch
ACT Charlotte Seymour Kim Harvey School of Dance Kim Harvey
VIC Darcy Donoghue VCASS Julie Fleming
SA Emmy Denys Turning Point Dance Michelle Hofmann
WA Jaime Osborne John Curtin College of the Arts Louise Roberts
QLD Tahlia Szumowski Promenade Dance Studios Daniela Crismani

With special thanks to our Australian Advanced 1 Bursary Sponsor