19 May 2023 13:51

Congratulations to our 2023 Advanced 1 Bursary Finalists

RAD bursaries, scholarships, and competitions provide generous opportunities to young performers to gain invaluable experience and to further their studies and training. The Australian Advanced 1 Bursary 2023 is a $5000 scholarship awarded to one student to further their studies. This year the Bursary has been mixed format, with filmed semi-finals and live finals. With the support of their teachers, candidates submitted a film of themselves undertaking a class taught by Karen Barker-Rogers and also a performance of a variation chosen from a specific selection.

We are thrilled to announce that finalists have been chosen from all the states entered, with multiple finalists from states where there were higher numbers of entrants. The panel of guest adjudicators, including Lucas Jervies, Camilla Vergotis, Juliett Burnett, and Olivia Bell, praised the hard work of both students and teachers in preparation, and commended the skills, technique, and outstanding performance qualities of the candidates.

The selected finalists will participate in our first live finals since 2019 at RAD HQ on Sunday 28th May.

RAD Australia is delighted to provide opportunities that celebrate the incredible skill and dedication of young dancers, and we wish all the finalists the very best of luck. We also thank Bloch Australia, who are the exclusive sponsors of the Australian Advanced 1 Bursary

The finalists are....


State Candidate Studio
New South Wales Pelagia Karakontis The Dance Spot

Peta Frith

New South Wales Isla Clark Tanya Pearson Academy

Gilli O'Connell

Queensland Edward Cooley Promenade

Daniella Crismani

Queensland Lila McGrath Classical Coaching Australia

Janine McGrath

Australian Capital Territory Soraya Sullivan Kim Harvey School of Dance

Kim Harvey & Samantha Leeman

South Australia Masato Rafinian Turning Point Dance

Michelle Hoffman

Victoria Ruby Monro Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School

Janne Blanch & Julie Flemming

Victoria Mia Atacador National Theatre Ballet School

Jane Inglis Keen



With special thanks to our Australian Advanced 1 Bursary Sponsor